Experiencing the Prophetic

The prophetic is for everybody! I Cor. 14

The prophetic word comes from deep down in your Spirit.

It’s not your imagination – God has made your imagination to be an interface with His Spirit.  Like the first time I heard the voice of God.

When I was thirteen and staying overnight in my grandmother’s house, I heard a voice in my heart calling my name. When I answered, God began telling me a story about a beautiful child that was stolen and abused by robbers. But then a simple farmer came by and found the child broken and bruised, and lying in a ditch. The farmer took this child home, dressed his wounds, fed him, and took him as His own. I didn’t know it at the time, but the farmer was God Himself, and He had told me the story of my life. I cried myself to sleep that night over the beautiful story. That was the first time I heard the voice of God.

You’ll feel it or hear it in different ways, but you need to check what you hear by turning to God in your spirit, and if it’s Him, you’ll feel a YES!

Often it comes as an agreement with God’s heart. You find yourself agreeing with something that you didn’t know before! When you realize it’s new to you, you can turn it over in your mind to understand it better.

Even if you don’t understand what you hear, you may feel the prompting to share. When that happens you have to trust the Spirit of God, and just begin to speak or sing it out. Often you’ll understand it better as it comes out of your mouth. I’ve prophesied to myself in this way many times.

If you don’t understand something, it’s okay to ask God for more understanding about it. Take it, write it down and pray over it, meditate on it, asking God to tell you more or open your understanding. The tabernacle pattern was like this for me.

We need each other! I hear a part, you see a part, someone else understands another part. We need all the parts of what God is saying, all the gifts in operation like in the tabernacle, in order to begin to see the whole.

We can cultivate the prophetic in our lives by making ourselves available to God, and being willing to respond to His big heart for people and for the world. To experience the prophetic go to a place where it’s just you and God. Open your heart and begin to cry out to Him. Ask him to tell you what is on His heart. Then stop to listen. Be willing to go with whatever He may say. Be ready to write down what you hear. You may simply feel His great Love for you, you may cry without understanding why;  but just lift your heart before God, and He will answer. Talking to God, and just listening to what He says. That’s the prophetic.

About jscotthusted

J. Scott Husted is a writer, educator, minister and teaching missionary currently living and working in Seoul, South Korea. He carries a passion for cultivating authentic community, the establishment of the house of prayer, the plight of children at risk around the world, and raising up a new generation of leaders with a passion for the Kingdom of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Cultivating Kingdom, The House of Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

