K-1 House of Prayer, Seoul

It’s happening! …and it’s so exciting. We have the privilege, once again, to see a house of prayer birthed for a nation! God is so good.

We’re so blessed and encouraged, because the K-1 (Kingdom First) House of Prayer, Seoul, is up and off the ground! After months of prayer and planning it’s so exciting to be participating in full, open sessions three times a week.

Last summer I came back to Korea in the middle of one of the worst monsoon seasons on record. It rained and it poured sheets of hot monsoon, while the streets ran like rivers and the city literally steamed in the heat.

I was beating the streets looking for a university job, often soaked to the skin in a suit and tie. The buses would leave me stranded as I stood in rising torrents of flood waters on the streets of Seoul. I would come back to an empty, borrowed apartment with no air conditioning, where mold was growing all over the walls and furniture, and, needless to say — I couldn’t sleep at all in the heat and the wet.

I was disconsolate, a world away from my family, but I didn’t give over to feelings of defeat. I knew that God had a plan through it all, and so I stood: every day I stormed heaven in intercession for the establishment of a house of prayer in Seoul. “One Thing,” I cried out, “One Thing I desire, oh God — One Thing I will seek after… That I may dwell in Your House, oh God, right here in Seoul! Establish it, God, Establish it here!”

One day as the streets of Seoul boiled under a clear sky and searing hot sun, I met with Christian Lee, Pastor of New Philadelphia Church. He had taken a look at my book, “The Establishment”, and told me that he was intrigued. In that meeting I challenged him to partner with me to establish a house of prayer in Seoul — and he responded with a cautious, surprised, yet sincere “Yes”! He wholeheartedly committed to the vision, and made it his own as he got the ball rolling.

He scheduled auditions for musicians, and over 50 dear hearts signed up to begin as house of prayer priests. We then started monthly training sessions in October, and began sessions by April. The time that we have spent together has been exciting and glorious! We have been doing three two-hour sessions a week, Tuesday night, Wednesday morning, and Thursday night. During the two hours we’ve been worshiping, praying and singing the word, and having focused intercession on specific topics. Last week we started praying over the steps for transformation of the city of Seoul in the Thursday night session, and will be continuing to pray preparation for transformation over Seoul in the coming weeks.

We bless God for what He is doing here in K-1 House of Prayer! He is establishing this house in the midst of a great bunch of Prayer Priests with passionate hearts and sold-out lives. We’ve even secured a space that K-1 can call its own, and we will be moving into it within the next few weeks.

Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow!!! We give Him the glory, and ask that He will continue to establish the House of Prayer through us — in Seoul, and all over the Pacific Rim!

About jscotthusted

J. Scott Husted is a writer, educator, minister and teaching missionary currently living and working in Seoul, South Korea. He carries a passion for cultivating authentic community, the establishment of the house of prayer, the plight of children at risk around the world, and raising up a new generation of leaders with a passion for the Kingdom of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Cultivating Kingdom, North and South Korea, The House of Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to K-1 House of Prayer, Seoul

  1. Yes! Yes! I’m with you all the way!

  2. jscotthusted says:

    Thanks, darlin’!

  3. Lauren A. says:

    Do you know if this house of prayer is still in operation? Also, do you know of any other houses of prayer in South Korea?

    • jscotthusted says:

      Yes. The K1 House of Prayer is in Hongdae, Seoul. They have been reduced to three sessions a week, however, I believe one of them Thursday evening. I have heard of one or two others, a large one reportedly in Incheon, but I have never been there. Its not the House of Prayer, but Iris ministries has a beautiful time of Prophetic Worship every Thursday night in Sanbon… but that will be changing to Friday nights. In Geyonggi Gwangju we may be starting a regular worship gathering… stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

